Belmonte, Weber, Norton Nominated for “Best Bowler” ESPY Award

by Jerry Schneider July 1, 2013 04:30

Two-time 2012-13 Professional Bowlers Association Tour titlists Jason Belmonte and Scott Norton and Barbasol PBA Tournament of Champions winner Pete Weber have been nominated for the 2013 “Best Bowler” ESPY award.

Voting for the “Best Bowler” ESPY, and a variety of other ESPY categories, is now open to the public and will remain open until the live ESPY Awards telecast begins at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN Wednesday, July 17. The celebration of achievements in sports will again be hosted by the Nokia Theater in downtown Los Angeles. To vote, visit and follow the instructions.

ESPY Award candidates are selected by ESPN for a variety of sports and special moments in athletic competition, and winners are determined by fan voting.

Belmonte, the Australian two-handed specialist and 2011 ESPY Award winner, won the Lucas Oil PBA Bear Open and the United States Bowling Congress Masters for his first major title, bringing his career titles total to seven. He also has five other top-five finishes including runner-up finishes in the PBA World Championship, Tournament of Champions and Chameleon Open.

Weber, who will be hoping for his third ESPY honor, won his second TOC title at age 50 to complete the PBA’s Triple Crown a second time, a feat no other bowler has accomplished. In winning his 37th career PBA Tour title, which ties him with Norm Duke for third all-time, he also tied Earl Anthony for most major titles with 10. Competing as a rookie on the PBA50 Tour this season, Weber notched his first win by capturing the USBC Senior Masters title—a PBA50 Tour major. Weber previously earned ESPYs in 2002 and 2004.

Norton’s two titles this season came in the Chameleon Open and Earl Anthony Players Championship. He also has four other top-10 finishes including a second in the Mark Roth Classic and fifth in the Viper Open.

Both Weber and Norton were also members of the New York City Mylan WTT KingPins presented by GEICO PBA League championship team owned by tennis legend Billie Jean King.


2012 – Sean Rash
2011 – Jason Belmonte
2010 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2009 – Norm Duke
2008 – Norm Duke
2007 – Norm Duke
2006 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2005 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2004 – Pete Weber
2003 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2002 – Pete Weber
2001 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2000 – Parker Bohn III
1999 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1998 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1997 – Bob Learn Jr.
1996 – Mike Aulby
1995 – Norm Duke
1994 – Norm Duke

If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.