PBA Tour Returns to Tokyo for Round1 Japan Cup Finals Sunday on ESPN

by Jerry Schneider January 14, 2013 05:43


One of the great long-standing traditions of the PBA Tour has been its annual trip across the Pacific to Tokyo for the Round1 Japan Cup. The tradition continues after a two-season absence when the finals of the 26th event airs on ESPN Sunday, Jan. 20 at 3 p.m. ET from Round1 Stadium Diver City Tokyo Plaza.

Leading the contingent of 20 invited PBA Tour players, who battled against 123 Japan and Korean PBA members in qualifying and match play rounds at the Minami Suna Round1 Bowling Center, was 13-time Tour winner and Japan Cup defending champion Tommy Jones trying for a fourth Japan Cup title.

Joining Jones in Japan were PBA stars Chris Barnes, Dom Barrett, Jason Belmonte, Josh Blanchard, Ryan Ciminelli, Norm Duke, Mike Fagan, Mika Koivuniemi, Wes Malott, Amleto Monacelli, Rhino Page, Osku Palermaa, Sean Rash, Bill O’Neill, Ryan Shafer, Pete Weber, Stuart Williams, Walter Ray Williams Jr. and 2013 PBA World Championship winner Parker Bohn III.

Bohn will be looking to add another Japan Cup title to his record four wins in the Japan Cup which included three consecutive championships in 1998, 1999 and 2000. Weber, Monacelli, Barnes and W.R. Williams, competing in his 26th consecutive Japan Cup, are also past winners of the tournament.

The Japanese and Korean players will be trying to break the winning streak by U.S. Tour players in the tournament of 21 consecutive titles dating back to the 1989 event won by Randy Pedersen. Ken Taniguchi and Takeo Sakai are the only Japanese winners taking titles in 1985 and 1988, respectively.

Bowling fans can get additional Tour coverage on pba.com and provide their feedback on PBA Tour telecasts through PBA’s social networking platforms on Facebook and Twitter


1985 – Ken Taniguchi
1986 – Pete Weber
1987 – Amleto Monacelli
1988 – Takeo Sakai
1989 – Randy Pedersen
1990 – Chris Warren
1991 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1992 – Parker Bohn III
1993 – Pete Weber
1994 – Brian Voss
1995 – Amleto Monacelli
1996 – Steve Wilson
1997 – Doug Kent
1998 – Parker Bohn III
1999 – Parker Bohn III
2000 – Parker Bohn III
2001-02 – Bob Learn Jr.
2002-03 – Robert Smith
2003-04 – Chris Barnes
2004-05 – Tommy Jones
2005-06 – Tommy Jones
2006-07 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2007-08 – Mika Koivuniemi
2008-09 – Patrick Allen
2009-10 – Tommy Jones
2010-11 – not held
2011-12 – not held

If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.