Compelling Storylines Remain Heading into 2012 PBA Senior Tour Finale

by Jason Thomas August 10, 2012 08:01

DECATUR, Ill.  – The 2012 PBA Senior Tour season concludes with the PBA Senior Decatur Open presented by Brunswick Aug. 11-14 from Spare Time Lanes. The race for PBA Senior Player of the Year and PBA great Dave Soutar’s final tournament of his career remain two of the major storylines heading into the tournament.

Senior POY crown not a done deal yet: With Hugh Miller’s victory and Mike Edward’s fourth-place finish in the Senior South Shore Open, the pair are still challengers for the title. Hall of Famer Walter Ray Williams Jr. still holds a 12-point lead over Miller and 14 points over Tour rookie and 2012 USBC Senior Masters winner Edwards in the POY points race. Williams, the Senior Tour’s Rookie of the Year in 2010, is hoping to add a Senior Player of the Year crown to go along with his record seven on the PBA Tour. Player of the Year points that will be awarded in Decatur are: 16 points to the winner, 8 for second place, 4 for third and 2 for fourth.

PBA Hall of Famer Dave Soutar’s career coming to a close: After more than a half-century competing on the PBA National and Senior Tours, Hall of Famer Dave Soutar of Bradenton, Fla., will call it a career at the conclusion of the Senior Decatur Open. Soutar is in his 51st year of PBA competition and Decatur will mark his PBA-record 259th Senior Tour event. Soutar is a seven-time Senior Tour winner, an 18-time winner on the PBA Tour and the only player ever to win both the USBC Masters and Senior Masters. The Detroit native and long-time Kansas City area resident was ranked as the 20th greatest bowler of all-time as part of PBA’s 50th anniversary in 2009.

Return of Johnny Petraglia to 2012 season: PBA Hall of Famer Johnny Petraglia made a successful return to the Senior Tour in the Senior South Shore Open in Hammond, Ind., after a three-month absence because of shoulder surgery. He qualified 23rd in Hammond, advancing to match play before being eliminated in the Round of 24. Just before his surgery on his right (non-bowling) shoulder, Petraglia, a 14-time winner on the PBA Tour and eight-time winner on the Senior Tour, became the only bowler in PBA history to win a PBA Tour or Senior Tour title in six different decades when he won the Senior Dayton Classic in May.

Decatur could be decisive in Senior Rookie of the Year race: This season four players have scored wins in their first year of eligibility: Lennie Boresch Jr., who won the Sun Bowl in The Villages in his Senior Tour debut; former PBA Tour player Bob Learn Jr. (Senior Mooresville Classic), Amleto Monacelli (Senior U.S. Open) and Edwards (USBC Senior Masters).  All are in contention for Senior Rookie of the Year honors which is determined by a vote by PBA members and selected bowling media at the conclusion of the season.

Hall of Famer Dale Eagle returns to defend title: Dale Eagle won the 2011 Senior Decatur Open to notch his 12th career Senior Tour title putting him in a tie for second on the all-time Senior Tour wins list. He defeated Kent Wagner of Palmetto, Fla., 223-186, in the title match at Spare Time Lanes.

Catch all the action from Decatur on Xtra Frame: Bowling fans can catch all the action from the Senior Decatur open from start-to-finish on bowling’s online bowling channel Xtra Frame.  Coverage will include qualifying rounds Sunday and Monday, and a full day of match play elimination rounds leading to the title match Tuesday evening. For subscription information, visit and click on the Xtra Frame icon.

PBA Senior Decatur Open presented by Brunswick Schedule
Spare Time Lanes, Decatur, Ill. (All times Central)

Saturday, August 11
9-10 a.m. - A Squad practice
Noon – 1 p.m. - B Squad practice.
2, 4, 7 p.m. Pro Am Squads benefiting Race For The Cure.
The 7 p.m. pro-am will be a special Baker-style Team Event.

Sunday, August 12
9 a.m. - A Squad qualifying (8 games)
3 p.m. – B Squad qualifying (8 games)

Monday, August 13
9 a.m. - B Squad qualifying (8 games)
3 p.m. - A Squad qualifying (8 games)

Tuesday, August 14
9 a.m. - Players qualifying 17-32 bowl (best of five games match play)
11 a.m. - Winners and players qualifying 9-16 bowl (best of five games match play)
2 p.m. - Winners and players qualifying 1-8 bowl (best of five games match play) beginning
6 p.m. -  Round of 8 (best of three games match play)
Round of 4 (one game) immediately following
Round of 2 (one game) immediately following

If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.