Koivuniemi, Barnes, O’Neill, Belmonte Nominated for 2011 Bowling ESPY

by Jerry Schneider June 28, 2011 04:30

SEATTLE - Reigning PBA Player of the Year Mika Koivuniemi; PBA’s newest triple crown winner Chris Barnes along with Bill O’Neill, and Jason Belmonte have been nominated for ESPN’s “Best Bowler ESPY” for 2011.

ESPN recently announced nominees in 33 categories and fan voting is now underway through 11:59 p.m. ET on July 9 at espn.com/espys. To vote, click on the “click to get started” tab on the ESPYs homepage, then click on the “vote by category” tab and scroll down the list to locate the “Best Bowler” category. Click on the image of the player to vote.

The winners will be announced during the 18th annual ESPYs, live on ESPN at 9 p.m. ET on July 13 from the Nokia Theater in Los Angeles.

Koivuniemi had a career season in 2010-11 winning the PBA Tournament of Champions for his ninth career title and third major while also finishing second in the Lumber Liquidators U.S. Open. He earned $330,040 becoming only the fourth player in PBA history to earn more than $300,000 in a season.

Barnes won the PBA World Championship to become the sixth player to win PBA’s Triple Crown. The 13-time PBA Tour titlist also finished second in the inaugural Dick Weber Playoffs.

O’Neill won his third career title in the Pepsi Viper Championship and finished second to Barnes in the PBA World Championship.

Belmonte, the first player with a two-handed delivery to win a PBA Tour title, had seven top 10 finishes in 2010-11 including finishing third twice.


2010 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.

2009 – Norm Duke

2008 – Norm Duke

2007 – Norm Duke

2006 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.

2005 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.

2004 – Pete Weber

2003 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.

2002 – Pete Weber

2001 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.

2000 – Parker Bohn III

1999 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.

1998 – Walter Ray Williams Jr.

1997 – Bob Learn Jr.

1996 – Mike Aulby

1995 – Norm Duke

If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.