Wayne Webb Goes for Third Straight PBA Senior U.S. Open Title June 6-11 in Las Vegas

by Jerry Schneider June 1, 2010 03:14

Senior U.S. Open and Senior Masters match play coverage on Xtra Frame 

PBA Hall of Famer and two-time defending champion Wayne Webb will attempt to become the first three-time winner of the PBA Senior U.S. Open presented by Suncoast when the 2010 edition is conducted June 6-11 at the Suncoast Bowling Center in Las Vegas.

Webb will be among approximately 250 bowlers ages 50 and over who will compete in the first major of the 2010 PBA Senior Tour season.

In 2009 Webb successfully defended his Senior U.S. Open title by defeating Brian Voss, 214-188, in the championship match. In 2008 he defeated top qualifier Johnny Petraglia, 204-172, for his first PBA Senior Tour title.

“It’s definitely harder to win back-to-back than to win the first one,” said Webb. “I remember I was really a nervous wreck because I wanted to win it more than anything.”

The 52-year-old Webb, who recently moved to Columbus, Ohio, from Sacramento, Calif., to open Wayne Webb’s Columbus Bowl, won the Senior Columbus Open in April for his third Senior Tour win and despite having to deal with the demands of being a new proprietor, is confident heading into this year’s Senior U.S. Open.

“Even with all the pressures of running a business, I’m probably bowling as well as I have been in a long time,” said the 2008 PBA Senior Rookie of the Year.

“I’ve been able to key on a part of my game where if I can get the ball farther out on the lane after the release I have a more consistent shot to the pocket and better carry which should work well on the U.S. Open lane conditions.

Because of his bowling center commitments Webb, who also finished second to Steve Ferraro in the season-opening Senior Dayton Classic, is only able to compete part-time on the Senior Tour this season. He’ll also bowl the United States Bowling Congress Senior Masters which will be conducted immediately after the Senior U.S. Open June 13-18 at the South Point Bowling Center also in Las Vegas.

Webb is also a 20-time Lumber Liquidators PBA Tour winner and was voted PBA’s 18th greatest player of all time as part of the organization’s 50th anniversary celebration in 2009.

Another player hoping to become the first three-time winner is Hall of Famer and four-time Senior Player of the Year Tom Baker of King, N.C. who won back-to-back titles in 2005 and 2006.

Other notables scheduled to compete are reigning PBA Senior Player of the Year Ron Mohr; PBA Hall of Famers Mark Williams, Ernie Schlegel and Dave Soutar, the winner of the inaugural Senior U.S. Open in 2003. Also entered are 2009 PBA Senior World Championship winner Harry Sullins and 11-time Senior Tour champion Dale Eagle.

With the most games of any event on the Senior Tour, the Senior U.S. Open incorporates one of the most challenging formats players will face. All players will bowl six-game qualifying blocks June 7, 8, and 9 after which the field will be cut to the top 25 percent who will bowl another nine-game qualifying round the morning of June 10. The field will then be cut to the top 24 players for three eight-game round-robin match play rounds conducted June 10 and June 11 to determine the top four for the stepladder finals scheduled at 3:30 p.m. Pacific on June 11. Practice and pro-ams will be conducted on June 6.

Hall of Famer and reigning PBA Player of the Year Walter Ray Williams Jr. is not expected to compete in the Senior U.S. Open but is entered in the USBC Senior Masters.

Bowling fans can check out coverage of the match play portions of both the Senior U.S. Open and USBC Senior Masters on pba.com’s Xtra Frame video service. For subscription and schedule information visit http://xtraframe.pba.com/Info.aspx


2009 – Wayne Webb

2008 – Wayne Webb

2007 – Rick Minier

2006 – Tom Baker

2005 – Tom Baker

2004 – David Ozio

2003 – Dave Soutar


Suncoast Bowling Center, Las Vegas, Nev., June 6-11

Sunday, June 6
8 a.m. - A squad practice
9:15 a.m. - B squad practice
10:30 a.m. C squad practice
Pro-Am squads to follow
Monday, June 7
7 a.m. - A squad qualifying (6 games)
10:45 a.m. - B squad qualifying (6 games)
2:30 p.m. - C squad qualifying (6 games)

Tuesday, June 8
7 a.m. - B squad qualifying (6 games)
10:45 a.m. - C squad qualifying (6 games)
2:30 p.m. - A squad qualifying (6 games)
Wednesday, June 9
7 a.m. - C squad qualifying (6 games)
10:45 a.m. - A squad qualifying (6 games)
2:30 p.m. - B squad qualifying (6 games)
Cut to the top 1/4 of the field
Thursday, June 10
7 a.m. – Qualifying (9 games)
Cut to top 24 bowlers
2 p.m. – Match play (8 games)

Friday, June 11
7 a.m. – Match play (8 games)

Noon – Match play (8 games)

Cut to top 4
Stepladder finals: 3:30 p.m.

If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.