Page, Dorin-Ballard Advance in Shark Championships

by PBA Editor August 28, 2009 19:00
Defending Professional Bowlers Association Shark Champion Rhino Page of Wesley Chapel Fla., and No. 1 Women’s Shark Championship qualifier Carolyn Dorin-Ballard of Keller, Texas, led their respective fields into the final round of match play at Thunderbowl Lanes Saturday night.
In another Round of 8 filled with upsets, Shark Championships top qualifier Norm Duke of Clermont, Fla., was eliminated in a tense 4-3 best-of-seven-game match by injury-plagued Tim Mack of Indianapolis, who earned his first exemption to bowl on the 2009-10 Lumber Liquidators PBA Tour in June at age 38. Duke battled back from a 3-0 deficit to tie the match, but a 4-6-7-10 split in the ninth frame of game seven killed his comeback bid.
All four of the Shark Championships top qualifiers who earned first-round match play byes lost in the Round of 8.
Page defeated No. 4 qualifier Mika Koivuniemi of Hartland, Mich., 4-2; Australian two-handed sensation Jason Belmonte rallied to defeated No. 2 qualifier Michael Haugen Jr. of Carefree, Ariz., 4-3, and Michael Fagan of Patchogue, N.Y., ousted No. 3 qualifier Tommy Jones of Simpsonville, S.C., 4-3.
In other matches, reigning PBA Player of the year Wes Malott of Pflugerville, Texas, knocked out Chris Barnes of Double Oak, Texas, 4-1; Jack Jurek of Lackawanna, N.Y., edged Mike Edwards of Tulsa, Okla., 4-3; Jason Couch of Clermont, Fla., eliminated Ryan Shafer of Horseheads, N.Y., 4-2, and Chris Loschetter of Avon, Ohio, defeated Lonnie Waliczek of Wichita, Kan., 4-2.
The possibility of the first husband and wife tandem reaching the televised finals in the same event ended early Saturday when Parker Bohn III of Jackson, N.J., lost a 4-3 match against Jack Jurek of Lackawanna, N.Y., in the Round of 28 while wife Leslie Bohn was eliminated by Dorin-Ballard, 4-1, in the women’s Round of 8.
In other women’s Round of 8 matches, Liz Johnson of Cheektowaga, N.Y., eliminated No. 2 qualifier Wendy Macpherson of Hendersonville, Nev., 4-1; U.S. Women’s Open champion Tammy Boomershine of North Ogden, Utah, ousted Colombia’s Clara Guerrero, 4-2, and Kelly Kulick of Union, N.J., stopped Shannon O’Keefe of Arlington, Texas, 4-2.
The men’s Shark Championship Round of 8 and the women’s Shark semifinal rounds were held Saturday night to determine the four men and two women who will advance to the Shark Championships finals on Saturday, Sept. 6. The Shark Championships will air on ESPN on Sunday, Dec. 6.
Thunderbowl Lanes, Allen Park, Mich., Aug. 29
Round of 16 (best of seven games, losers eliminated and earned $3,400)
Jason Couch, Clermont, Fla., def. Ryan Shafer, Horseheads, N.Y., 4-2
Wes Malott, Pflugerville, Texas, def. Chris Barnes, Double Oak, Texas, 4-1
Michael Fagan, Patchogue, N.Y., def. Tommy Jones, Simpsonville, S.C., 4-3
Tim Mack, Indianapolis, def. Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla., 4-3
Jason Belmonte, Australia, def. Michael Haugen Jr., Carefree, Ariz., 4-3
Rhino Page, Wesley Chapel, Fla., def. Mika Koivuniemi, Hartland, Mich., 4-2
Chris Loschetter, Avon, Ohio, def. Lonnie Waliczek, Wichita, Kan., 4-2
Jack Jurek, Lackawanna, N.Y., def. Mike Edwards, Tulsa, Okla., 4-3
Round of 28 (best of seven games, 12 winners plus four players who earned first round byes advanced to Round of 16; losers eliminated and earned $2,500)
Mack def. Patrick Dombrowski, Parma, Ohio, 4-2
Edwards def. Mitch Beasley, Puyallup, Wash., 4-0
Jurek def. Parker Bohn III, Jackson, N.J., 4-3
Malott def. Thomas Smallwood, Saginaw, Mich., 4-2
Barnes def. Ronnie Russell, Camby, Ind., 4-1
Page def. Dino Castillo, Carrollton, Texas, 4-2
Belmonte def. Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo., 4-2
Couch def. Dan MacLelland, Saginaw, Mich., 4-3
Shafer def. Sean Rash, Wichita, Kan., 4-0
Lonnie Waliczek def. Troy Wollenbecker, Miami, 4-2
Loschetter def. Brian Waliczek, Birch Run, Mich., 4-1
Fagan def. Robert Smith, Columbus, Ohio, 4-3
Thunderbowl Lanes, Allen Park, Mich., Aug. 29
Round of 8 (best of seven games, losers eliminated and earned $2,500)
Tammy Boomershine, North Ogden, Utah, def. Clara Guerrero), Colombia, 4-2

Liz Johnson, Cheektowaga, N.Y., def. Wendy Macpherson, Henderson, Nev., 4-1
Carolyn Dorin-Ballard, Keller, Texas, def. Leslie Bohn, Jackson, N.J., 4-2
Kelly Kulick, Union, N.J., def. Shannon O'Keefe, Arlington, Texas, 4-2

If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.