Upsets Dominate PBA Scorpion Championship Round of 16

by PBA Editor August 24, 2009 19:00
Defending champion Wes Malott of Pflugerville, Texas, advanced to the Round of 8 in the Professional Bowlers Association Scorpion Championship at Thunderbowl Lanes Tuesday, but it was a rough afternoon for three of the four top qualifiers.
The Scorpion Championships, for men and women, are part of the inaugural PBA World Series of Bowling taking place in suburban Detroit through Sept. 6.
Malott, who dominated on the PBA Scorpion lane condition last season, rallied to win the final game against Venezuela’s Amleto Monacelli, 214-204, for a 4-3 decision in their best-of-seven-game, single-elimination match.
Eliminated in Tuesday’s Round of 16, however, were top qualifier Pete Weber of St. Ann, Mo., who lost a 4-3 contest against Sean Rash of Wichita, Kan.; No. 2 qualifier Chris Barnes of Double Oak, Texas, who was upset by laid off General Motors employee Thomas Smallwood of Saginaw, Mich., 4-3, and No. 4 Mika Koivuniemi of Hartland, Mich., who was ousted by Jack Jurek of Lackawanna, N.Y. No. 3 qualifier Steve Jaros, Yorkville, Ill., was the only top four qualifier to advance to Tuesday night’s Round of 8, defeating Joe Ciccone of Buffalo, N.Y., 4-2.
In the PBA Women’s Series presented by BOWL.COM Scorpion Championship Round of 8, top qualifier Kelly Kulick of Union, N.J., eliminated Adrienne Miller of Albuquerque, N.M., 4-1; No. 3 qualifier Liz Johnson of Cheektowaga, N.Y., ousted Jodi Woessner of Oregon, Ohio, 4-1, and Shannon Pluhowsky of Phoenix eliminated Shannon O’Keefe of Arlington, Texas, 4-1. No. 2 qualifier and defending Women’s Scorpion Champion Michelle Feldman of Auburn, N.Y., also advanced, but she needed seven games to escape Colombia’s Clara Guerrero, 4-3, and move on to Tuesday night's semifinal round.
The four winners from Tuesday night’s men’s Round of 8 and the two surviving women will advance to the PBA Scorpion Championships which will be conducted Sunday, Sept. 6, for delayed telecast on ESPN on Sunday, Nov. 29.
Thunderbowl Lanes, Allen Park, Mich., Aug. 25
Round of 16 (best of seven games, losers eliminated and earned $3,400)
Norm Duke, Clermont, Fla., def. Ryan Shafer, Horseheads, N.Y., 4-1
Mike DeVaney, San Diego, def. Rhino Page, Wesley Chapel, Fla., 4-1
Steve Jaros, Yorkville, Ill., def. Joe Ciccone, Buffalo, N.Y., 4-2
Sean Rash, Wichita, Kan., def. Pete Weber, St. Ann, Mo., 4-3
Thomas Smallwood, Saginaw, Mich., def. Chris Barnes, Double Oak, Texas, 4-3
Jack Jurek, Lackawanna, N.Y., def. Mika Koivuniemi, Hartland, Mich., 4-1
Jason Belmonte, Australia, def. Lonnie Waliczek, Wichita, Kan., 4-3
Wes Malott, Pflugerville, Texas, def. Amleto Monacelli, Venezuela, 4-3
Round of 28 (best of seven games, 12 winners plus four players who earned first round byes advanced to Round of 16; losers eliminated and earned $2,500)
Rash def. Andrew Cain, Scottsdale, Ariz., 4-1
Malott def. Stevie Weber, Chalmette, La, 4-0
Monacelli def. Ronnie Russell, Camby, Ind., 4-2
Page def. Jason Couch, Clermont, Fla., 4-3
DeVaney def. Chris Loschetter, Avon, Ohio, 4-2
Jurek def. Brad Angelo, Lockport, N.Y., 4-3
Smallwood def. Martin Larsen, Sweden, 4-1
Shafer def. Mitch Beasley, Puyallup, Wash., 4-0
Duke def. PJ Haggerty, Clovis, Calif., 4-0
Belmonte def. Walter Ray Williams Jr., Ocala, Fla., 4-1
Waliczek def. John Nolen, Grand Blanc, Mich., 4-0
Ciccone def. Jeff Carter, Springfield, Ill., 4-0
Thunderbowl Lanes, Allen Park, Mich., Aug. 24
Round of 8 (best of seven games, losers eliminated and earned $2,500)
Liz Johnson, Cheektowaga, N.Y., def. Jodi Woessner, Oregon, Ohio, 4-1
Michelle Feldman, Auburn, N.Y., def. Clara Guerrero, Colombia, 4-3
Kelly Kulick, Union, N.J., def. Adrienne Miller, Albuquerque, N.M., 4-1
Shannon Pluhowsky, Phoenix, def. Shannon O'Keefe, Arlington, Texas, 4-1
If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.