PBA Senior Tour Returns to The Villages, Fla. May 9-13

by PBA Editor May 7, 2009 19:00
The Professional Bowlers Association Senior Tour returns to The Villages, Fla., for the fourth stop of the 2009 PBA Senior Tour season. A field of approximately 120 of the world’s top senior bowlers, ages 50 and older, will compete in the PBA Senior Sun Bowl in The Villages at Spanish Springs Lanes May 9-13.
The PBA Senior Tour revisits The Villages after a nine-year absence. In 2000, The Villages hosted the PBA Senior World Championship won by Roger Workman. In 1999, The Villages hosted three events - The Villages Senior World Championship won by Dale Eagle; The Villages Senior Invitational won by Norb Wetzel, and The Villages Senior Tournament of Champions won by Dave Soutar.
Eagle, of Tavares, Fla., ended a four-year drought by winning the PBA Senior Mooresville Miller High Life Classic on Wednesday for his 11th career title, tying him with Gene Stus for third on the all-time Senior Tour win list.
Several players named to PBA’s all-time 50 greatest players list as part of the organization’s 50th anniversary celebration will compete at The Villages including Hall of Famers Johnny Petraglia, Jackson, N.J.; Tom Baker, King, N.C.; Dave Soutar, Bradenton, Fla., and Wayne Webb, Sacramento, Calif. In his first year of eligibility, 24-time PBA Tour titlist and Hall of Famer Brian Voss of Alpharetta, Ga., will make his Villages debut as a Senior Tour competitor.
Other notables in the field are PBA Hall of Famers Mark Williams, Beaumont, Texas, who finished second in the Mooresville Miller High Life Classic; Roy Buckley, Westerville, Ohio and Ron Mohr of Eagle River, Alaska, who won the first two PBA Senior Tour events this season.
The Sun Bowl format will take on a new look with all bowlers competing in six-game qualifying blocks on May 10, 11 and 12. After 18 games, the top 32 players will advance to round-robin match play beginning May 13. Match play continues all day on May 13 with the four-player stepladder finals scheduled for 7 p.m. Eastern. Practice and pro-ams will take place on May 9.
Spanish Springs Lanes, The Villages, Fla.
(All times are Eastern)
Saturday, May 9
9 a.m. - A squad practice
10:15 a.m. - B squad practice
11:30 a.m. – C squad practice
Pro-Am squads to follow beginning at 2 p.m.

Sunday, May 10 – Qualifying (6 games)
9 a.m. - A squad
12:45 p.m. - B squad
4:30 p.m. - C squad
Monday, May 11 – Qualifying (6 games)
9 a.m. - B squad
12:45 p.m. - C squad
4:30 p.m. - A squad
Tuesday, May 12 – Qualifying (6 games)
9 a.m. - C squad
12:45 p.m. - A squad
4:30 p.m. - B squad

Top 32 players advance to match play

Wednesday, May 13
8 a.m. - 32 players bowl 9 round-robin match games
Cut to Top 16
1:30 p.m. - Top 16 players bowl 9 round-robin match games
Cut to top 4
7 p.m. - Top four players bowl stepladder final

If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.