Sylvia's Second is Sweet

by PBA Editor August 8, 2007 19:00
Don Sylvia waited a long time for his second PBA Senior Tour title, but it was well worth the wait.

Sylvia captured his first title since his rookie season in 2003, defeating Roger LeClair, 226-211, in the title match of the 2007 PBA Senior Lake County Open Thursday at Olympia Lanes.

The 2003 PBA Senior Rookie of the Year qualified 21st after 16 games and had to bowl five matches to get the title match while LeClair, who qualified third, had to win just three.

The day, like the four years since his last title, wasn’t easy for Sylvia, who after sweeping his best-of-five Round of 32 match, three-games-to-none, had to come from behind in his next two matches to win. He fell in an 0-2 hole to No. 12 Mark Jones in the Round of 24 before bouncing back to win the final three games, then lost the first game to No. 5 Michael Henry in the Round of 16 before winning three in a row again.

Sylvia had an easier time in the best-of-three Round of 8, sweeping Bob Chamberlain, 2-0, then knocked off his roommate Henry Gonzalez, 210-192, in the one-game semifinal to reach the title match.

The 54-year-old jumped out to an early lead against LeClair, who opened in the second, but Sylvia opened in the fourth to give LeClair the lead. Sylvia responded with five consecutive strikes, while LeClair was burned by a ringing 10-pin in the eighth frame after a double. The Discovery Bay, Calif., resident wrapped up the title with a nine-spare in the 10th frame.

“I’ve been waiting so long for this,” Sylvia said. “The first title is always great. I came out my rookie year and was very fortunate to win, but believe me the second one is much tougher. The second one proves I really do belong out here. This is just a taste of honey.”

Sylvia, who dedicated the win to his late father who passed away two years ago, took home $8,000 for the win.

The win was particularly painful for LeClair (Clackamas, Ore.), who again came up just short in his quest for his first career PBA Senior Tour title. The 2005 PBA Senior Rookie of the Year runner-up to PBA Hall of Famer Tom Baker, LeClair also finished second at Olympia Lanes two years ago.

LeClair took home $4,500 for second, while Gonzalez (Colorado Springs, Colo.) and Gary Smith (E. Peoria, Ill.) took home $3,000 for third and fourth.

The PBA Senior Tour heads to Decatur, Ill., next week for the 2007 PBA Senior Decatur Open, Aug. 11-14 at Spare Time Lanes. The winner will take home $8,000.

PBA Senior Tour
PBA Senior Lake County Open
Olympia Lanes
Hammond, Ind.
Thursday, Aug. 9


(Single-game match. Winner earns $8,000. Loser earns $4,500.)

#21 Don SylviaX9/X63XXXXX9/9

#3 Roger LeClairXs8-XX9/XX9/9/XX8


(Single-game matches. Losers eliminated, earn $3,000.)

#9 Henry Gonzalez192
#21 Don Sylvia210
Sylvia Advances

#10 Gary Smith171
#3 Roger LeClair185
LeClair Advances


(Single elimination, best-of-three-games. Losers eliminated, earn $1,700.)

#1 Tom Baker192171
#9 Henry Gonzalez192 (10)248
Gonzalez Advances

#21 Don Sylvia220205
#4 Bob Chamberlain194130
Sylvia Advances

#15 Don Blatchford178203
#10 Gary Smith242221
Smith Advances

#6 Roger Kossert200205
#3 Roger LeClair209242
LeClair Advances


(Single elimination, best-of-five-games. Losers eliminated, earn $1,300.)

#32 Jeff Bellinger174212174155
#1 Tom Baker223206248266
Baker Advances

#9 Henry Gonzalez239203247224
#8 James Brenner196234203194
Gonzalez Advances

#5 Michael Henry235195179187
#21 Don Sylvia198198249238
Sylvia Advances

#4 Bob Chamberlain200181193175207
#13 Rohn Morton203175175206177
Chamberlain Advances

#15 Don Blatchford247204190187236
#2 David Ozio228179254224235
Blatchford Advances

#10 Gary Smith216233232236
#7 Tim Kauble221156201234
Smith Advances

#6 Roger Kossert221226191224
#11 Dale Eagle210200215183
Kossert Advances

#3 Roger LeClair213234197243
#30 Bill Henson187201214192
LeClair Advances


(Single elimination, best-of-five-games. Losers eliminated, earn $1,100.)

#32 Jeff Bellinger235243255
#16 Frank Gallo Jr.225203195
Bellinger Advances

#25 Ray Johnson168228216194
#9 Henry Gonzalez257218234243
Gonzalez Advances

#12 Mark Jones190239179163207
#21 Don Sylvia176167191233226
Sylvia Advances

#13 Rohn Morton172209255220178
#29 George Lord195246183162174
Morton Advances

#18 Sam Zurich267214227194215
#15 Don Blatchford200235167215258
Blatchford Advances

#23 Ron Garr185191226
#10 Gary Smith217236243
Smith Advances

#11 Dale Eagle268189235239
#27 John Shreve Sr.255214218235
Eagle Advances

#14 Tom Carter196219189167
#30 Bill Henson225193246225
Henson Advances


(Single elimination, best-of-five-games. Losers eliminated, earn $1,000.)

#17 Steven Jansson203160216165
#32 Jeff Bellinger174211227176
Bellinger Advances

#25 Ray Johnson212204222214
#24 Bob Brady159205209207
Johnson Advances

#21 Don Sylvia199170241
#28 Mike Pullin168162159
Sylvia Advances

#29 George Lord169182194209193
#20 Vince Mazzanti Jr.192170177218174
Lord Advances

#18 Sam Zurich191237158
#31 Barry Mefford165221153
Zurich Advances

#26 Bill Spigner178207242
#23 Ron Garr209237263
Garr Advances

#22 Norb Wetzel181190221
#27 John Shreve Sr.184219255
Shreve Advances

#30 Bill Henson195185223200
#19 Kevin Croucher185210204178
Henson Advances
If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.