Holding On

by PBA Editor March 21, 2007 19:00
While he hasn’t had the type of year he is accustomed to and is in danger of not being exempt on the 2007-08 Denny’s PBA Tour, PBA Hall of Famer Brian Voss isn’t thinking of an exemption, instead focusing on winning his second career PBA Major.

Voss (Alpharetta, Ga.), who was 41st in the PBA World Point Rankings entering the Denny’s World Championship at Spectrum Lanes and needs to get to at least 39th to remain exempt next season, advanced from Thursday night’s Round of 32, sweeping Jack Jurek (Lackawanna, N.Y.), four-games-to-none.

“I’ve been hurt all year so I haven’t been able to practice as much as I want to or really get anything going,” said Voss, who qualified 35th for the event’s best-of-seven match play which gives the top eight qualifiers a bye for the first two rounds. “I’m really not thinking about an exemption for next year, I’m just trying to win a Major. There are two left and I want to win one. That’s it, very plain and very simple. I’m not thinking about the future, I’m just thinking about the current tournament.”

Voss advances to face No. 19 Ritchie Allen (Columbia, S.C.), who knocked off PBA Hall of Famer Walter Ray Williams Jr. (Ocala, Fla.), 4-3.

Two other bowlers advanced from Thursday’s night action via the sweep. No. 13 Norm Duke (Clermont, Fla.), who won last week’s 2007 Pepsi Championship, knocked off No. 36 Eddie Graham (Centerville, Ohio), while 2003-04 PBA Rookie of the Year No. 12 Chris Johnson (Garland, Texas) took down No. 37 Jimmy Levendosky (Hudsonville, Mich.).

Duke will face No. 20 Chris Warren (Grants Pass, Ore.) in the Round of 16 while Johnson will take on No. 21 Patrick Healey Jr. (Denton, Texas).

The top two seeds in the Round of 32 were upset as No. 9 Mike Scroggins (Amarillo, Texas) fell to No. 40 Edward Van Daniker Jr. (Essex, Md.), 4-2, while No. 10 Pete Weber (St. Ann, Mo.) was upset by No. 39 Carolyn Dorin-Ballard (North Richland Hills, Texas), 4-1.

Van Daniker matches up with No. 25 Brad Angelo (Lockport, N.Y.) in the Round of 16 and Dorin-Ballard takes on No. 26 2005-06 PBA Player of the Year Tommy Jones (Simpsonville, S.C.), who needed seven games to knock off Troy Wollenbecker (Toledo, Ohio).

Thursday night’s winners advance to Friday’s Round of 16 which begins at 9 a.m. EST. Round of 16 winners will move on to face the top eight qualifiers in the Super 16 with those winners advancing to the Round of 8.

The final four advance to Sunday’s live ESPN televised finals at 2 p.m. EST at DeVos Place in Grand Rapids, Mich. The winner will take home $50,000 and a four-season exemption through the 2010-11 Denny’s PBA Tour season.
If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.