Baer Awarded Commissioner's Exemption

by PBA Editor February 11, 2007 19:00
PBA Commissioner and CEO Fred Schreyer announced today Ted Baer has been awarded the Commissioner’s Exemption for the 2007 Go RVing Classic, Feb. 14-18, at Thunderbowl in Council Bluffs, Iowa. The live ESPN televised finals will take place Sunday, Feb. 18 at 11:30 a.m. CST.

Baer, who is one of four owners of Thunderbowl, won the exemption as part of an auction held at Bowl Expo this past summer. The PBA auctioned off a spot in a Denny’s PBA Tour event on behalf of the Bowling Hall of Fame.

The Omaha, Neb., resident has been a PBA member since 2000. In addition to being a part-owner of Thunderbowl since 1997, he is also one of the trustees for the Bowling Hall of Fame and Museum.

Baer has been bowling for nearly 40 years, joining his first adult league at the age of 15. He competed in his first PBA Regional Tour event in 1975 at the age of 15 in Rapid City, South Dakota. He is a member of three bowling Halls of Fame: the Council Bluffs Bowling Hall of Fame, Omaha Bowling Hall of Fame and State of Nebraska Bowling Hall of Fame.

Last season, Baer competed in the 2005 Greater Omaha Classic Tournament Qualifying Round, finishing 12th overall, just five spots shy of qualifying for the Round of 64.

“I’m very excited and I can’t wait to start on Thursday,” Baer said. “I’d love to make match play. That’s what my goal is but I know the people I’ll be bowling against. I don’t think I have any delusions of grandeur, but if things happen right and if I get some lucky breaks I might get to the next step.”

Baer, who also recently helped break ground on a new 40-lane bowling center in Omaha, also used to own two hockey teams and is a member of the State of Nebraska Hockey Hall of Fame.

The 2007 Go RVing Classic gets underway Wednesday, Feb. 14 with the Denny’s PBA Tour Qualifying Round at 9:30 a.m. CST. Baer will join 63 other bowlers in Thursday’s Round of 64 which gets underway at 11 a.m. The top 32 after Thursday will advance to Friday’s match play where the field will be narrowed down to five bowlers for Sunday’s final round.
If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.