Fans to Vote for Final Two Participants in "Motel 6 Roll to Riches"

by PBA Editor April 1, 2006 19:00
The PBA announced today the list of 14 PBA All-Stars fans can vote for to earn the final two spots in the “Motel 6 Roll to Riches,” a special postseason event which features a winner-take-all $200,000 top prize. The “Motel 6 Roll to Riches” will be contested Thursday, April 13 at 6:30 p.m. CT at Main Event Entertainment – Lewisville in Lewisville, Texas. The show will air on ESPN as two back-to-back one-hour shows on Sunday, April 23 beginning at 1 p.m. ET. The list includes 13 of the top players in the 2005-06 PBA World Point Rankings who have not won a Major event this season, as well as defending champion Chris Barnes. The 13 bowlers from the point rankings include Norm Duke, Wes Malott, Mike DeVaney, Patrick Allen, Ryan Shafer, Pete Weber, Mika Koivuniemi, Brad Angelo, Parker Bohn III, Jason Couch, Mike Machuga, Robert Smith and Michael Fagan. Voting will begin Sunday, April 2 at 1 p.m. ET and end Saturday, April 8 at 5 p.m. ET. The two All-Star winners will be announced during the 2006 Dexter Tournament of Champions live ESPN telecast Sunday, April 9 at 1 p.m. ET. The two bowlers with the most votes will join the four winners of this season’s Denny’s PBA Tour Major events in a high stakes, winner-take-all event which will give the winner a Tour record-tying $200,000 top prize. The four Denny’s PBA Tour major winners include: - Mike Scroggins, winner of the 2005 USBC Masters. - Tommy Jones, winner of the 63rd U.S. Open. - Walter Ray Williams Jr., winner of the 2006 Denny’s World Championship. - Winner of the 2006 Dexter Tournament of Champions, Sunday, April 9 If a nominee wins the 2006 Dexter Tournament of Champions and is ranked in the top two in voting, the third highest vote-getter will earn a berth in the “Motel 6 Roll to Riches.” The 2006 Dexter Tournament of Champions takes place April 6-9 at Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn. The winner will earn not only a spot in the “Motel 6 Roll to Riches,” but also $100,000 and a two-season Tour exemption.
If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.