Vincent Awarded Exemption

by PBA Editor November 1, 2006 19:00
PBA Commissioner and CEO Fred Schreyer announced today Gene Vincent has been given the Commissioner’s Exemption for the 2006 Lake County Indiana Classic in Hammond, Ind., Nov. 15-19.

Vincent, who resides in Decatur, Ill., has been a PBA member since 2002. He competes full-time on the PBA Senior Tour, winning his first career PBA title in the 2005 PBA Senior Lake County Open at Olympia Lanes in Hammond.

Vincent, who also owns a PBA Regional Tour title and a PBA Senior Regional Tour title, is a member of three bowling Halls of Fame including the Illinois Bowling Hall of Fame.

“I’m looking forward to it. I’m going to go in there and just relax and have fun. I know the exempt guys are the best in the world,” said Vincent. “I still love the game and I still bowl pretty well these days so I’m not going to embarrass myself. But mostly I just want to have fun and compete as well as I can.”

The 55-year-old has been voted the Pat Patterson Award winner in the PBA Senior Midwest Region each of the last two seasons, an award that is given annually to one member in each region for contributions to the PBA Regional programs. He runs the largest PBA Senior Regional Tour event in the country in Taylorsville, Ill., and also helped established a PBA Senior Tour stop in Decatur, Ill.

“Gene has been one of the strongest supporters of the PBA at all levels,” said Schreyer. “His dedication to the PBA Regional Tour and PBA Senior Tour has helped open doors for more events and given more opportunities for bowlers to compete. He has a strong following in the Hammond area and will do a great job promoting the event.”

Vincent, who just opened Bowlers Choice Pro Shop in Decatur, Ill., helped raise over $5,540 for Race for the Cure – a part of the Susan G. Komen Breast Cancer Foundation – and Decatur Memorial Hospital during last season’s 2006 Senior Decatur Open.

The 2006 Lake County Indiana Classic takes place Nov. 15-19 at Stardust Bowl I in Hammond, Ind. The live ESPN televised finals will take place Sunday, Nov. 19, at 1 p.m. EST.
If you enjoyed this post, please consider sharing it.