Chris Schenkel PBA Player of the Year Award

Date Name
2014 Jason Belmonte
2013 Jason Belmonte
2012 Sean Rash
2011 Mika Koivuniemi
2010 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2009 Wes Malott
2008 Chris Barnes
2007 Doug Kent
2006 Tommy Jones
2005 Patrick Allen
2004 Mika Koivuniemi
2003 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
2002 * Parker Bohn III
2000 Norm Duke
1999 Parker Bohn III
1998 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1997 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1996 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1995 Mike Aulby
1994 Norm Duke
1993 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1992 David Ferraro
1991 David Ozio
1990 Amleto Monacelli
1989 Amleto Monacelli
1988 Brian Voss
1987 Marshall Holman
1986 Walter Ray Williams Jr.
1985 Mike Aulby
1984 Mark Roth
1983 Earl Anthony
1982 Earl Anthony
1981 Earl Anthony
1980 Wayne Webb
1979 Mark Roth
1978 Mark Roth
1977 Mark Roth
1976 Earl Anthony
1975 Earl Anthony
1974 Earl Anthony
1973 Don McCune
1972 Don Johnson
1971 Don Johnson
1970 Nelson Burton Jr.
1969 Billy Hardwick
1968 Jim Stefanich
1967 Dave Davis
1966 Wayne Zahn
1965 Dick Weber
1964 Bob Strampe
1963 Billy Hardwick


With another outstanding record in 2014 PBA Tour major championships, Australian two-handed competitor Jason Belmonte picked up where he left off in 2012-13 to earn his second consecutive GEICO Chris Schenkel PBA Player of the Year award.

An overwhelming winner in balloting among his fellow competitors and a panel of veteran bowling journalists over Mike Fagan of Fort Worth, Texas, and Ronnie Russell of Marion, Ind., Belmonte won three PBA Tour titles in 2014 including back-to-back majors in the Barbasol PBA Tournament of Champions and United States Bowling Congress Masters. He also won the Oklahoma Open during the Grand Casino Resort Summer Swing, and led the PBA Tour in earnings ($163,788), average (226.71) and competition points (136,454).

He is the only two-handed player to win the PBA Player of the Year award. He joined Venezuela’s Amleto Monacelli (1989 and ’90) as the second international player to win PBA Player of the Year honors in back-to-back years, and he joined Monacelli and Finland’s Mika Koivuniemi as the third foreign-born player to win PBA’s highest annual honor twice. Belmonte is the sixth player to win the POY award in consecutive years. Walter Ray Williams Jr., Earl Anthony (twice) and Mark Roth all won the honor three years in a row.

During the 2014 season, Belmonte defeated Wes Malott of Pflugerville, Texas, with a strike on his last shot to win the Barbasol PBA Tournament of Champions by a single pin in January at Thunderbowl Lanes in Allen Park, Mich., 219-218. A month later, he defeated top qualifier EJ Tackett of Huntingon, Ind., 221-177, to become the third player to win back-to-back Masters titles, joining Hall of Famers Billy Welu (1964 and 1965) and Dick Hoover (1956 and 1957) in that exclusive club. The 31-year-old Australian then won four straight matches on a demanding Bear lane condition to win the Oklahoma Open, defeating Tackett in the title match, 193-145, for his 10th career title.